Motorman Sextet (2013)


soprano, alto, countertenor, tenor, baritone, bass

Motorman Sextet is a work for six vocalists and was written for ekmeles vocal ensemble and is dedicated to Jeffrey Gavett.

This vocal sextet sets the text of 11 chapters in 9 movements from David Ohle’s classic cult science fiction novel Motorman. This piece is part of a larger work that will eventualy set the entire novel. The particular chapters used in Motorman Sextet are all descriptions of past events from the point-of-view of the central character, Moldenke, which together have a generally nostalgic mood.

Motorman Fragments (2011)

soprano, alto, tenor, bass, percussion, cello, guitar, and clarinet

Motorman Fragments was written in the Fall of 2011 and early 2012 for Ek'meles vocal ensemble through Columbia Composers. It is a setting of twelve chapters from David Ohle's Motorman. One chapter corresponds with one movement with the exception of chapters 41-45, which are all grouped together in the eighth and final movement:

Knowledge Believed Memory (2009)

solo soprano

Knowledge believes memory was written as part of the “Young Artist Overture” in connection with Soundstreams Education and Outreach programme. An excerpt from Light in August by William Faulkner, the text is a poetic description of how memories are transformed and continue to affect a person’s life long after the memories fade. The text is sung with only the vowels the first time through, then with only the liquid consonants that do not demand a break in the tone, and finally the text is sung in its entirety the third and final time. By following this sequence, the text takes form as a memory sinking into one’s mind. As well, it draws the listener into making a greater effort to comprehend the text in performance. The melismas that follow the chanted text unfold the melody in the way the text unfolds, where the complete melody is not heard until the very end of the work.